AIR BASE AIR DEFENSE / DAILY BRIEFING

ABAD Daily NewsAcquisition, military and joint-force developments.

28SEP 202610 STORIES

Ten distinct reports on counter-drone modernization, air and missile defense capacity, electronic warfare, resilient combat-system data, open-architecture weapons and joint live fire, checked against every earlier edition and separated from older event and document dates.

· Europe/BerlinCoverage: 21 September 2026–28 September 2026Edition permalink ↗

Acquisition · Military · Joint force

BLUF = bottom line up front
01
An Integrated Viper Electronic Warfare Suite unit displayed under blue lighting.
Northrop Grumman's Integrated Viper Electronic Warfare Suite in a manufacturer equipment photograph. Northrop Grumman, via Air & Space Forces

Air Force adds $87.4 million for IVEWS low-rate production and compatibility work

BLUF An $87.4 million modification moves the F-16's Integrated Viper Electronic Warfare Suite further into low-rate production while funding radio-frequency compatibility work. The official notice puts the underlying contract at $1.92 billion and completion at December 2029. Reporting links the effort to an initial 72 Block 50 aircraft, but this award does not establish fleetwide fielding or operational availability.

Air & Space Forces / U.S. Department of War · Specialist reporting traced to an official contract notice

Reported 25 September 2026 · Contract modification announced September 24; report published September 25 and updated September 26, 2026

Read the source
02
U.S. and Indian Army leaders speak together on a desert range before a joint firepower demonstration.
U.S. and Indian Army leaders discuss the upcoming joint firepower demonstration in Rajasthan on September 24, 2026. U.S. Army National Guard / Staff Sgt. Kalina Hyche

Yudh Abhyas culminates with M-LIDS integrated into bilateral live fire

BLUF Yudh Abhyas concluded with M-LIDS supporting a bilateral live-fire sequence alongside Indian Pinaka, Dhanush, L70, Swathi and Apache systems and U.S. HIMARS. This is a substantive step beyond the September 22 operator training previously covered: the counter-drone system was integrated into the exercise's culminating combined-arms event. The report still does not say Indian personnel operated M-LIDS.

What changed: The exercise has now reached its September 24 bilateral live-fire culmination, with M-LIDS integrated into a broader U.S.-Indian artillery, air-defense and aviation sequence. Previous coverage

11th Airborne Division / DVIDS · Official exercise result

Culminating live fire conducted September 24; official report posted September 26, 2026 at 00:09 without a stated time zone

Read the source
03
An Air Force maintainer inspects an AIM-9X missile mounted on an F-15E.
An Air Force maintainer inspects an AIM-9X loaded on an F-15E; contextual official image for the acquisition-report findings. U.S. Air Force / Senior Airman Grace Turpin, via Air & Space Forces

Acquisition reports expose AIM-9X readiness gaps and a steep JASSM production ramp

BLUF New reporting on July-cleared acquisition reports puts AIM-9X Block II operational availability at 58 percent for the Air Force and 78 percent for the Navy versus an 86 percent requirement, with a processor problem delaying software testing. Separately, JASSM output is planned to rise from roughly 600 a year to 1,880 in fiscal 2032; those are plans, not achieved rates.

Air & Space Forces / U.S. Department of War acquisition reports · Original analysis of official acquisition reports

Reported 24 September 2026 · Reporting published September 24 local time from FY2027 budget-cycle acquisition reports cleared in July 2026

Read the source
04
An Air Force commander speaks to attendees during the Phoenix Spark industry day at Travis Air Force Base.
The 60th Air Mobility Wing commander addresses the Phoenix Spark industry day at Travis Air Force Base on September 23, 2026. U.S. Air Force / Senior Airman Saisha Cornett

Counter-drone systems dominate Travis AFB's Phoenix Spark industry day

BLUF Counter-drone technology accounted for 18 of 28 vendor displays at Travis AFB's Phoenix Spark industry day, giving Airmen and commanders a direct look at potential base-protection tools. The official report does not name vendors, systems, evaluation criteria, awards or follow-on tests. It therefore documents the installation's demand signal and market exposure—not selection, measured performance or fielding.

60th Air Mobility Wing / DVIDS · Official installation report

Industry day held September 23; official report posted September 25, 2026 at 13:24 without a stated time zone

Read the source
05
A Rolling Airframe Missile leaves a shipboard launcher during a German Navy test.
A Rolling Airframe Missile launches during an official German Navy test; archival equipment photograph for the industrial-base awards. German Navy, via MBDA Deutschland

U.S.-German RAM awards add seeker-test capacity and two years of engineering

BLUF Two coordinated Rolling Airframe Missile actions put $20.09 million into supplier capacity and seeker-head test equipment through January 2030 and $26.56 million into Raytheon design-agent and engineering support through September 2028. U.S. and German cooperative funds are involved. These awards strengthen the production and support base; the notice does not specify additional missiles, delivery quantities or a production-rate increase.

U.S. Department of War · Official contract notice

Two related Rolling Airframe Missile awards announced September 25, 2026

Read the source
06
A sailor fills a helium sphere for an AN/SPY-1A radar calibration aboard USS Arleigh Burke.
A sailor prepares an AN/SPY-1A external-calibration sphere aboard USS Arleigh Burke in 2023; archival context for the Aegis data plugin. U.S. Navy / Mass Communication Specialist 2nd Class Almagissel Schuring

Dahlgren automates Aegis event-data export ahead of fleet expansion

BLUF Dahlgren's automated DRotE plugin is designed to package and export the correct Aegis event data without a sailor manually navigating complex files under pressure. The Navy says it will integrate the tool into ERDDS and expand it across the Aegis fleet in fiscal 2027. This improves data offload and diagnosis; it is not a SPY-1 performance or missile-defense upgrade.

Naval Sea Systems Command · Official service technical report

Automated version completed in fiscal 2026; fleet expansion and ERDDS integration planned for fiscal 2027

Read the source
07
A German F-35A sits on a stage during its rollout ceremony in Fort Worth.
Germany's first F-35A at its September 2026 rollout; contextual official program image for the APG-85 long-lead award. Lockheed Martin Aeronautics / F-35 Joint Program Office

Navy funds long-lead material for 67 Lot 7 APG-85 radars

BLUF A not-to-exceed $123.78 million modification buys long-lead parts and components for 67 Lot 7 APG-85 production radars, with work extending to February 2031. The notice is an industrial lead-time action and does not say the radars are complete, installed or operational. It also provides no performance data, schedule by aircraft variant or unit cost for finished sensors.

U.S. Department of War · Official contract notice

Contract modification announced September 24, 2026; work scheduled through February 2031

Read the source
08
An EA-18G Growler carries a Next Generation Jammer-Low Band pod in a manufacturer illustration.
L3Harris manufacturer image of the Next Generation Jammer-Low Band configuration on an EA-18G Growler. L3Harris Technologies

Navy and Australia add $876.4 million to NGJ-LB development

BLUF A Navy-Australia modification adds up to $876.4 million for continued NGJ-LB engineering, system-demonstration pods, cybersecurity, software, test and logistics work through fiscal 2031. Only $26.69 million was obligated at award. The notice remains an engineering and manufacturing development action for the EA-18G Growler jammer—not a full-rate-production award or operational-fielding declaration.

U.S. Department of War · Official contract notice

Contract modification announced September 23, 2026; work scheduled through fiscal 2031

Read the source
09
A modular Rampart launcher is mounted on the deck edge of a French Mistral-class assault ship.
A Rampart launcher photographed aboard a French Navy Mistral-class amphibious assault ship leaving Toulon. Hervé Dermoune, via Naval News

Naval Group's Rampart launcher appears aboard a Mistral-class assault ship

BLUF A Rampart launcher has been photographed aboard a French Mistral-class assault ship, moving Naval Group's containerized close-in concept from exhibition imagery to a reported shipboard installation. Naval News assesses that the ship is preparing for an October WildFire counter-drone exercise, but the Navy has not confirmed the schedule, loadout or test result. No at-sea firing is yet reported.

Naval News · Original observation and photography with manufacturer background

Launcher photographed aboard a Mistral-class LHD leaving Toulon during the week of September 21; report published September 22, 2026

Read the source
10
An Anduril Barracuda-500M rests on a support cradle in a manufacturer photograph.
A Barracuda-500M in an Anduril manufacturer photograph published with the WOSA verification announcement. Anduril Industries

AFRL verifies Barracuda's open weapon architecture across 14 domains

BLUF AFRL's MOATEL independently verified Anduril's Barracuda-M software architecture across 14 Weapon Open Systems Architecture domains. The test supports swapping compliant seekers, navigation modules, software and other subsystems without redesigning the whole weapon. Anduril says production is underway and first deliveries are planned for early 2027; certification is not a delivery, operational test or combat-fielding result.

Anduril Industries / U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory · Manufacturer announcement quoting the independent government test authority

Four-day MOATEL assessment completed before the September 23, 2026 announcement; exact test dates were not disclosed

Read the source