AIR BASE AIR DEFENSE / DAILY BRIEFING

ABAD Daily NewsAcquisition, military and joint-force developments.

30SEP 202610 STORIES

Ten distinct reports on domestic counter-drone acquisition, nuclear-site defense, allied air defense, mobile counter-UAS, extended-range interceptors, long-range fires, joint air-defense training, European procurement capacity and military target-recognition research, checked against every earlier edition and separated from older event, contract and exercise dates.

· Europe/BerlinCoverage: 23 September 2026–30 September 2026Edition permalink ↗

Acquisition · Military · Joint force

BLUF = bottom line up front
01
A software interface places detection boxes around a fixed-wing drone and a multicopter.
A manufacturer AiTR product illustration showing aided recognition of fixed-wing and multicopter unmanned aircraft. Sightline Intelligence

Army AvMC and Sightline open AI target-recognition research

BLUF Sightline Intelligence says a new CRADA with Army DEVCOM AvMC will use its AiTR platform, Army datasets and government-owned recognition models for missile seekers, launched effects, ISR, long-range fires and air defense. No government release, contract value, test result or fielding milestone was found, so this remains a company-attributed research agreement rather than procurement or validated performance.

Sightline Intelligence / Army DEVCOM AvMC · Company-issued cooperative research announcement

Cooperative research and development agreement announced September 29, 2026; issuer distribution published at 12:00 UTC

Read the source
02
A HIMARS launcher fires during twilight training in Alaska.
A HIMARS fires during JPMRC 26-02 in Alaska on February 18, 2026; archival launcher context for the PrSM Increment 4 prototype awards. U.S. Army / Correy Mathews, via DVIDS

Army selects five teams for 1,000-kilometer PrSM prototypes

BLUF The Army selected five companies to develop HIMARS-launched PrSM Increment 4 prototypes intended to exceed 1,000 kilometers against moving maritime and relocatable land targets. Initial development and a competitive fly-off are planned for fiscal 2027, followed by a downselect and final fly-off in 2028. Values, prototype counts and production commitments were not disclosed.

U.S. Army / DVIDS · Official prototype award announcement

Five other-transaction agreements awarded September 29, 2026; DVIDS posted the report at 18:00 without a stated time zone; development and competitive flight activity planned for fiscal years 2027 and 2028

Read the source
03
A ramjet propulsion unit operates on an instrumented ground-test stand.
A manufacturer ground-test image of solid-fuel ramjet propulsion published with current XRC reporting. Northrop Grumman, via Defence Industry Europe

Army awards $18.8 million for an extended-range counter-drone ramjet

BLUF Army DEVCOM AvMC awarded Northrop Grumman $18.8 million to integrate a solid-fuel ramjet into Extended Range Counter-UAS missile prototypes for the Stinger Vehicle Universal Launcher. The effort targets greater reach for mobile short-range air defense and includes planned ground and flight tests. It is a development contract, not a completed test, production decision or fielded interceptor.

Northrop Grumman / U.S. Army DEVCOM AvMC · Issuer-distributed contract announcement

$18.8 million development contract announced September 29, 2026; issuer distribution published at 10:32 EDT; ground and flight testing remain planned

Read the source
04
A small quadcopter flies above a desert test range with counter-UAS equipment in the foreground.
A small quadcopter flies over an official NNSA desert counter-UAS demonstration range; archival context for the new evidence-sharing agreement. U.S. Department of Energy / National Nuclear Security Administration

NNSA and JIATF-401 agree to share counter-drone test evidence

BLUF NNSA and JIATF-401 will exchange laboratory test data, operational observations and field assessments to reduce duplicate counter-drone testing and accelerate decisions for nuclear-security facilities. The memorandum complements March test guidelines and creates an evidence-sharing mechanism; it is not an equipment award, a deployment announcement or proof that any system has met site-specific acceptance criteria.

National Nuclear Security Administration · Official interagency agreement

Memorandum announced September 29, 2026

Read the source
05
A green Joint Light Tactical Vehicle is parked on open terrain.
JLTV equipment imagery published with the Dutch PROTECTOR CUAS agreement; an illustration of the receiving platform, not delivered integration. KONGSBERG / Oshkosh Defense Europe

Dutch JLTVs to receive PROTECTOR counter-drone weapon stations

BLUF Dutch JLTVs are slated to receive KONGSBERG's PROTECTOR RS4 remote weapon station with the PROTECTOR CUAS package through an agreement with Oshkosh Defense Europe. The manufacturer describes a detect-track-defeat chain, but the announcement withholds value, quantity, sensor and effector configuration, delivery timing and acceptance status. It should not be read as completed integration or operational fielding.

KONGSBERG / Oshkosh Defense Europe · Manufacturer contract announcement

Agreement announced September 29, 2026

Read the source
06
A NASAMS launcher fires an interceptor from a grassy field.
NASAMS equipment in a manufacturer live-fire photograph published with the Dutch CITADEL expansion announcement. KONGSBERG

Netherlands adds NOMADS and more NASAMS under CITADEL

BLUF A roughly NOK 1.5 billion contract adds several mobile NOMADS systems and expands Dutch NASAMS capacity under the CITADEL program signed in 2024. The combination deepens short- and medium-range layers, but KONGSBERG did not disclose exact quantities, configuration, delivery schedule, acceptance criteria or operational date. This is separate from the Netherlands' recent maritime-defense and JLTV counter-UAS actions.

KONGSBERG · Manufacturer contract announcement

Approximately NOK 1.5 billion contract announced September 29, 2026 under the CITADEL program first signed in 2024

Read the source
07
A U.S. Army soldier trains with counter-drone equipment in a wooded field.
A soldier trains against unauthorized drones during Saber Junction 26 on August 29, 2026; official contextual imagery for the Domestic Shield awards. U.S. Army / Sgt. Marc Morgenstern, via Breaking Defense

JIATF-401 lists $4.15 billion in new Domestic Shield contract ceilings

BLUF JIATF-401 announced ten Domestic Shield IDIQ awards whose listed base ceilings total $4.15 billion, covering radar, electro-optical tracking, smart sights and robotic weapon stations. The figure is contracting capacity rather than obligated spending or delivered equipment; task orders, quantities, customers and fielding dates remain undisclosed, while supporting reporting describes a wider vehicle potentially worth up to $7 billion.

U.S. Army / JIATF-401 · Official acquisition announcement

Ten indefinite-delivery awards announced September 29, 2026; task-order timing and delivery schedules were not disclosed

Read the source
08
A NASAMS launcher stands on rocky coastal terrain under a cloudy sky.
A NASAMS launcher at a coastal range in the manufacturer image published with Belgium's contract announcement. KONGSBERG

Belgium signs a NOK 10 billion NASAMS contract

BLUF Belgium's planned NASAMS acquisition has advanced to a signed NOK 10 billion contract, executed by the Netherlands procurement authority with the Belgian Air Force as end user. That is a substantive step beyond the July decision. The announcement does not disclose battery count, interceptor mix, delivery schedule, acceptance milestones or when the system will become operational.

KONGSBERG · Manufacturer contract announcement

Contract signed and announced September 29, 2026, following Belgium's July acquisition decision

Read the source
09
European officials sit around a conference table at an EDA Steering Board meeting.
EU defence ministers at the September 28 EDA Steering Board that approved the agency's expanded role. European Defence Agency

EU ministers approve an expanded EDA procurement role

BLUF EU defense ministers approved a stronger European Defence Agency role in research, experimentation and capability development, including a collaborative procurement center for services and off-the-shelf equipment. The plan also raises staffing by about 25 percent to nearly 300. This is institutional capacity and policy authority, not a specific acquisition award, budget disbursement or delivered capability.

European Defence Agency · Official multinational policy decision

EU defence ministers approved the changes at the September 28, 2026 EDA Steering Board

Read the source
10
A Spanish F-18 appears in silhouette against a bright sunset above the sea.
A Spanish F-18 flies at sunset during Eagle Eye 26-03, photographed by the Spanish Defence Staff during the September 21–25 exercise. Spanish Defence Staff (EMAD)

Spain links fighters, AEGIS and Mistral in Eagle Eye 26-03

BLUF Eagle Eye 26-03 connected more than 1,800 Spanish personnel, F-18 fighters, an Army Mistral unit, the AEGIS-equipped frigate Méndez Núñez and national air-operations command nodes for defensive missions against unidentified aircraft and drone incursions. The exercise demonstrates joint command-and-control practice, not a new procurement, combat validation or permanent readiness level.

Spanish Defence Staff · Official joint exercise result

Eagle Eye 26-03 ran September 21–25, 2026 at Málaga Air Base and in the Alboran Sea

Read the source