ABAD Daily NewsAcquisition, military and joint-force developments.
22SEP 202610 STORIES
Ten distinct reports on air and missile defense, counter-drone acquisition, tactical command and control, joint-force exercises and drone fielding, checked against every earlier edition and original event dates.
· Europe/BerlinCoverage: 15 September 2026–22 September 2026Edition permalink ↗
BLUF The Air Force expects to start shipping its next-generation Tactical Operations Center-Light to operational units by year-end, with 70 systems planned under the current contract. The single-pallet command post is designed for rapid dispersal and multi-network data fusion. Delivery remains planned, and the service says the eventual fleet size is still evolving.
Air & Space Forces Magazine · Conference reporting
Reported 21 September 2026 · Air Force and industry officials spoke September 16; first MR2 deliveries are planned by December 2026
BLUF The Space Development Agency is soliciting up to eight new ground entry points for its Tranche 3 missile-warning and tracking satellites, plus upgrades at existing sites. A single award is expected by early 2027. The distributed ground network is intended to improve resilience and move tracking data to military users; no contract has been awarded.
Air & Space Forces Magazine / Space Development Agency · Acquisition reporting and solicitation
Reported 21 September 2026 · Solicitation issued September 18; award expected in late 2026 or early 2027
BLUF Leonardo says it signed a contract to supply 30 mm X-GUN systems to Kongsberg for an undisclosed NATO customer's multilayer counter-drone system. The electrically driven weapon uses programmable ammunition, including airburst rounds, for very-short-range defense. The reproduced release does not disclose the customer, contract value, system quantity, delivery schedule or operational status.
Armada International / Leonardo · Reproduced manufacturer press release
Reported 21 September 2026 · Contract announced during MSPO on September 21; signing date not stated
BLUF Denmark has ordered additional Weibel XENTA M-5 radars to detect, classify and track drones around critical military infrastructure. The package also covers maintenance and continuing software updates, using a model already bought for brigade air defense. The Accelerationsfonden finances the purchase, but the announcement gives no quantity, value or delivery schedule.
Danish Defence Acquisition and Logistics Organisation · Official acquisition announcement
Reported 21 September 2026 · Contract announced September 21, 2026; delivery schedule not stated
05Source-supplied launch still from the previously reported interceptor trial; not footage of the newly claimed combat engagements. Volodymyr Zelenskyy, via UNITED24 Media
BLUF Ukraine's president now claims the newly tested interceptor hit two Shaheds in combat on September 19, including a jet-powered Geran-5. That is a substantive step beyond the trial result covered yesterday. The system remains unidentified, and neither the claimed engagements nor repeatable performance, deployment scale and production capacity have been independently verified.
What changed: Later reporting adds a claimed move from trials to combat: two Shaheds, including a jet-powered Geran-5, were reportedly intercepted on September 19. Previous coverage
The Kyiv Independent / Ukrainian presidency · Reporting with official statement
Reported 20 September 2026 · Claimed combat interceptions on September 19; report published September 20, 2026
BLUF The 130th Airlift Wing tested split-site command and agile combat employment while an exercise white cell flew drones representing ordnance-carrying threats over the forward location. Airmen had to identify the aircraft, raise alerts and execute base-defense procedures. The report documents realistic training, not an evaluated counter-UAS interception system or operational attack.
130th Airlift Wing / DVIDS · Official unit report
Exercise September 14–20; official report posted September 20, 2026
BLUF The Army says it has fielded 10,000 small drones and is receiving another 30,000—enough hardware to reach every squad. The limiting factor is now trained operators, especially for contested electromagnetic environments. The figures come from an Army official's media roundtable; they describe fielding and incoming inventory, not 40,000 fully operational squad systems.
Business Insider · Direct roundtable reporting via publisher-authorized syndication
Reported 19 September 2026 · Army media roundtable September 17; report published September 19, 2026
BLUF Dutch forces combined a newly exercised mobile radar picture with Stinger and NASAMS live fire during Cerberus Thunder on Crete. The Air Force called the radar deployment a first step toward a mobile Control and Reporting Center, reducing reliance on fixed sites. Successful firing and procedural evaluation do not by themselves establish deployment readiness.
Netherlands Ministry of Defence · Official exercise report
Reported 18 September 2026 · Cerberus Thunder training during the week ending September 18, 2026
BLUF U.S. and Canadian forces are rehearsing maritime targeting and engagement processes in the Bering Sea under Operation TUNDRA MERLIN. The drill links ships and a submarine with patrol aircraft, Alaska-based F-35s and E-3 airborne command and control. It tests binational information flow through September 22; the report describes simulated engagements, not combat results.
Alaskan Command / DVIDS · Official operation report
Operation TUNDRA MERLIN planned for September 18–22; report posted September 18, 2026
BLUF The Netherlands' 2027 equipment plan names maritime kinetic counter-UAS and air-and-missile-defense weapons among intended new contracts, while additional Multi Mission Radars are due for delivery. The ministry also says a new naval anti-drone system is expected soon. These are budget and procurement milestones; suppliers, quantities and contract values are not disclosed.
Netherlands Ministry of Defence · Official budget and acquisition plan
Reported 15 September 2026 · 2027 defense budget and acquisition plan published September 15, 2026